RSS

Upload more than 100 documents on SharePoint 2010 websites

05 Apr

Recently I was tasked with uploading lots of documents to a SharePoint 2010 website. I ran into a couple of problems.

Things I will have solutions for in this post:

  • The “Upload Multiple Documents” option is grayed out (unavailable).
  • I can’t upload more than <some amount>MB’s of information at a time.
  • I can’t upload more than 100 documents at one time.

The “Upload Multiple Documents” option is grayed out:

On my SharePoint website the first thing I tried to do is upload multiple documents option. But as many people found, the option to do this was grayed out.

  1. This was related to using Mozilla Firefox. Switch to Internet Explorer for this action and make sure it is the most current version. I know this isn’t a “fix”, but all I needed was a quick workaround.

I can’t upload more than <some amount>MB’s of information at a time:

  1. Login to your Central Administration website for your SharePoint 2010 site.
  2. Once logged on, Click “Application Management” -> “Manage Web Applications”.
  3. Here, Click (highlight) the site you wish to modify,  then click “General Settings”.
  4. In “General Settings” scroll down until you see an option to set your “Maximum Upload Size”.
  5. Change this number to your preference and click ok.
  6. You’re done.

I can’t upload more than 100 documents at one time:

  1. On your SharePoint 2010 site go to the library you would like to add documents to.
  2. Select “Open with Explorer” View.
  3. Drag and drop your documents you want to upload to your SharePoint 2010 website.
  4. Yes it is that easy and you’re done.
Side Note: If you liked/disliked this blog please leave a comment! I want to know what you think!
 
 

Tags:

One response to “Upload more than 100 documents on SharePoint 2010 websites

  1. CAE

    December 15, 2015 at 8:37 pm

    This blog was helpful to me. It provided easy-to-follow instructions on how to upload more than 100 files to a SharePoint 2010 site using Windows Explorer copy and paste style.

     

Leave a Reply

 
