RSS

Simple Fix! “the disk structure is corrupted and unreadable ” – Disk Management

05 Apr

Recently I had a problem which was very frustrating. While in disk management, I was was trying to initialize an iSCSI disk. Every time I tried, it would throw the message “the disk is corrupt and unreadable”. I found the solution and it’s too easy to not share.

Problem:

I found the fix here: Windows Server 2008 installation fails with “The computer could not find a valid system volume”

  1. Start out by logging into your server
  2. Run “Computer Management ” (Start -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management)
  3. Check out “disk 3″ in the image below. As you can see disk 3 is offline.
  4. If you click “Online” it throws this box:

Solving the Problem:

On your host.

  1. Start up the command prompt and run the following commands:
    diskpart
    san policy = OnlineAll
    exit diskpart
  2. In Computer Management -> disk Management, right click on the Disk that is giving you  problems -> properties
  3. Write down the location of the Problem disk
  4. Open Device Manager -> under Disk Drives
  5. Find the Problem disk by location comparison
  6. Once you find the Problem disk -> right click and uninstall
  7. Open Disk Management -> right click -> rescan
  8. Initialize your disk’s now, they should work!
 
17 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2011 in Windows Server 2008

 

Tags:

17 responses to “Simple Fix! “the disk structure is corrupted and unreadable ” – Disk Management

  1. Eubierna

    December 31, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    i follow all the steps but its not solved, its appears like a RAW tipe instead of NTFS?? how i change that i want to recover mt pictures and work from that disk, in aditional infotmation i work in a windows 7 64bits, 4g ram, and this this is an aditional disk in my computer

     
    • win1337ist

      January 2, 2012 at 5:39 pm

      This is a different type of problem I believe. I looked up your problem and I think it is called a “blackout”, it has something to do with bad sectors on your disk. There is a way of recovering these sectors, this can be done with a program called TestDisk. The documentation for Test Disk can be located here Step-By-Step. If this doesn’t work please contact me again and we can find other methods.

       
      • Naveen

        January 13, 2012 at 6:08 am

        I’ve 500 GB Segate Goflex and facing same problem. I will be very lucky if it’s work. Thanks in advance

         
  2. Jack Forrrest

    January 20, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    Thank you, it worked.
    I recommend not restarting after uninstalling the drive – go straight to disk management and rescan.

     
  3. hamid

    February 5, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    not corrected
    what should I do?
    my 2 years old daughter’s photos are in this HDD
    help me plz

     
    • win1337ist

      February 9, 2012 at 5:44 pm

      You gotta give me some more information if you want me to help you. Send me the steps you did, and I will try to help you. Screen shots are a huge help to me as well.

       
  4. shags

    April 19, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    thanx a lot my problem solved thanx a lot

     
  5. Maheswaran Nagarajan

    May 20, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    Hi win1337ist,

    I am using a Seagate 1TB external expansion hard drive. I have over six years of data saved on that drive. Recently I am getting the same error. I followed the TestDisk Step By Step document. But that didnt help… I am using Windows 7 Professional x32-bit. I tried the quick search as a deeper search. Is there any way to recover my data. Any help is much appreciated. I dont screenshots now. I will try the TestDisk again and snipe the steps followed.

    Thanks in Advance
    Maheswaran Nagarajan

     
  6. Maheswaran Nagarajan

    May 21, 2012 at 4:59 am

    Hi,

    I have fixed the issue. I just tried the very basic step and that seem to fix the issue. I ran a check disk for the drive under concern and that made the drive accessible.

    Thanks
    Maheswaran Nagarajan

     
    • win1337ist

      May 21, 2012 at 4:08 pm

      Hey Maheswaran,
      Thanks for the update, i’m glad everything worked out for you. Try to make backups in the future to eliminate losing your data.

      Thanks
      win1337ist

       
      • Maheswaran Nagarajan

        May 22, 2012 at 4:00 am

        Thanks win1337ist,

        The funny thing was the data on drive was actually the backup. I noticed the issue when I tried to restore it from backup.

        Anyway everything worked out well..

        Thanks again.

         
  7. Marium

    June 22, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    Hi win1337ist,

    I am having the same problem in my laptop. I have use the micro soft fixit. and then its working and after few days it appears again and it is now not resolving the issue. Can you please help me. I am using the HP Pavillion dv6000 and issue on my dvd drive.

     
    • win1337ist

      June 27, 2012 at 3:29 pm

      Marium,
      Can you give me some more information on your problem?

       
  8. SnuffnStuff

    September 13, 2012 at 6:53 pm

    Had this issue a few month back with my CDROM Drive. Found this article, Followed the instructions, and BAM it was like Gandalf had dropped some magic on my PC,.. everything went to working again. Today,.. nothing. Same issue. Same Error as described. Tried this fix again,.. nothing. No disk will read in the CD Drive. Any ideas?

     
  9. SnuffnStuff

    September 13, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    …Wait,.. just realized that my junky Vista box is still running SP1. Update will likely fix. I feel like choad for not ever updating….

     
  10. John Williams

    November 13, 2012 at 2:46 am

    Excellent, worked for us.. DS3500 IBM SAN, one of the volumes was ‘corrupt and unreadable’ .

    Uninstalled, rescanned, back to normal!

     
  11. Gerlee

    November 23, 2012 at 4:18 am

    thanks a lot. that works that error is fixed easily

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

